The MRCPCH is:

  • an essential component of training for paediatricians in the UK
  • mapped to the UK curriculum
  • approved by the General Medical Council (GMC) as meeting the required standards
  • informed by the latest research and evidence based
  • responsive to changes in UK training.

The MRCPCH comprises:

  • Foundation of Practice (FOP) – theory exam
  • Theory and Science (TAS) – theory exam
  • Applied Knowledge in Practice (AKP) – theory exam
  • MRCPCH Clinical exam

Candidates take the three theory examinations on a computer at a test centre. Theory examinations can be taken in any order and are non-sequential. There are usually three sittings of each exam per year.

Candidates must pass the three theory examinations before they can sit the MRCPCH Clinical examination.

The MRCPCH Clinical exam is the last of the MRCPCH exams. You will┬ásit this in a hospital and follow a ‘circuit’ of 12 scenarios/stations. Our trained examiners, who have extensive experience working in paediatrics, will┬ábe present┬áin each station to assess your performance. Some of the scenarios include children, young people and adults acting as patients or family members.

Some countries use the MRCPCH as part of their paediatric training programme while trainees from other countries sit the MRCPCH as an opportunity for up-skilling, to drive learning and to gain an internationally recognised post graduate medical qualification.

Each year approximately 3,200 candidates attempt the FOP and TAS exams, 2,000 attempt the AKP, and 1,700 attempt the MRCPCH clinical exam.